The Sausage Race Is Turning 20


Mascot races have become a staple at several major league ballparks, both on the field and on jumbo-trons. The original of the on-field mascot races turns 20 this year – the Klement’s Sausage Race featured at Milwaukee Brewers home games.

The first ever sausage race was run on June 27, 1993. What better way to usher in the 20th anniversary than with a quasi-celebrity race?

Today, members of the Dan Patrick Show will be suiting up in the various sausage costumes in a competition to decide which of the sports talk radio personalities has the most athleticism, at least from the knees down. Host Dan Patrick and his four sidekicks more commonly known as “the Danettes” (Paul Pabst, Todd Fritz, Andrew “McLovin” Perloff and Seton O’Connor) will all participate. At the time of publication, it is unclear who, exactly, will be running as the Hot Dog, Polish Sausage, Italian Sausage, Bratwurst and Chorizo. has issued a release containing 10 fun facts about the race, including a video of the first ever race.

About Matthew George

Matthew George graduated from the University of Kentucky in 2008 with a bachelor of science in journalism. He spent three years writing sports for the Kentucky Kernel, the university's daily paper, and served as assistant sports editor. After undergrad, Matthew attended Chase College of Law at Northern Kentucky University where he earned his juris doctorate. He is now admitted to practice law in Kentucky and Indiana.

3 thoughts on “The Sausage Race Is Turning 20

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.