David Wright Named Fourth Captain in Mets History


The New York Mets officially designated third basemen David Wright as team captain, making Wright just the fourth player in club history to have the honor bestowed upon him. Keith Hernandez, Gary Carter and John Franco are the only other players who have captained for the Mets.

Wright also becomes one of just three active captains in Major League Baseball, the others being Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter and White Sox first baseman Paul Konerko.

The official title is new, but the leadership role is one that is familiar to the long-time Met third baseman, though he doesn’t wear it on his sleeve – and won’t start now. Wright has chosen not to wear a “C” patch on his uniform this season.

Wright, who recently signed and eight-year, $138 million contract extension to remain with New York through 2020, was recently dubbed “Captain America” for his performance and leadership for Team USA in the 2013 World Baseball Classic. He was the only American named to the All-Classic team.

You can read more on Wright’s new designation below.

Wright appointed fourth captain in Mets history

Mets make Wright third active captain in MLB

Formal title of captain won’t change Mets’ Wright

About Matthew George

Matthew George graduated from the University of Kentucky in 2008 with a bachelor of science in journalism. He spent three years writing sports for the Kentucky Kernel, the university's daily paper, and served as assistant sports editor. After undergrad, Matthew attended Chase College of Law at Northern Kentucky University where he earned his juris doctorate. He is now admitted to practice law in Kentucky and Indiana.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.